The Myra Building, built in 1914 as Tony's Tin Shop, had the second story added in 1920. At that time the building was renamed the MYRA after Tony's wife "Mary" who went by Myra. Housed in the upper story of the building was a six-room brothel. This initially was just intended to be rooms for rent but the entire upper floor was rented by Mr. and Mrs. Owens. He was basically a pimp (known in Butte as Secretaries) and she a Madam — stories tell of a constant flow of miners in and out of the building in the late 1920s and early 1930s.
By World War II the brothel was not working and the rooms were rented on and off for the next 40 years. The brothel has been restored to about the way it might have looked around 1930. The Brothel and Tin Shop are still owned by the same family today (Cononica) and much of the rich history has been passed down from generation to generation. • Link to article in Montana Standard
Visit the Myra on our East Walking Tour.
|Historic Guide Center 117 North Main Street • Butte, MT 59701 • (406) 498-3424 • E-mail • Links|